Twitter – Playing the Bigger Game

Last time I wrote about Tweeting @ – tweeting something you wanted to be Re-Tweeted while adding Twitter names of people you want to Re-Tweet it in your post.

To see if it works, I’ve immediately ran an experiment. I’ve Tweeted @ seven of my followers a link to an article on my blog with a request to Re-Tweet. I’ve already done numerous Mentions and Re-Tweets for them so I wanted to see if I’ll be reciprocated for my good deeds. I sent the message on Friday and did not touch my Twitter account till Tuesday the following week.

The results were: one person out of the seven I’ve asked has Re-Tweeted my message – thanks @TheBudgetnista ! One other person has clicked on the link but didn’t Re-Tweet it.

This is most interesting. It appears that I’ve been playing Tit-for-Tat with people who are not consciously aware of my existence. They didn’t make a move most likely because they weren’t aware they’ve been playing the game.

My first interpretation of the results were that perhaps @TheBudgetnista, who has a relatively small amount of Followers compared to the other people I Tweeted @ were more likely to notice my message. Then I recalled that some time ago I have left an Amazon review for her book The One Week Budget and Tweeted about it.

What it means is that in the past I had made a move that was stronger than simply Tweeting @; I just hadn’t realized that I made it.

Sociologists call a move like this “Creating a Weak Connection.” In other words, I might not have made a friend but I most certainly made a bit of an impression. A small favor that would make your message stand out just a bit more than the rest in the hail of Tweets that comes the way of a favor recipient.

This leads me to think that perhaps playing a Bigger Game than simply Tweeting, Re-Tweeting, Mentioning, etc. is better in the long run.

If you are a writer, write a review for someone whose book you’ve read, post it and Tweet about it. You write for a living, shouldn’t take you much time, right? Mention the author’s Tweeter handle in the Tweet. The chances that your effort will be reciprocated sometime in the future should increase by manifold.

At least, that’s my experience so far. If I run into evidence to the contrary, I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

